Ars Fennica logo

Suomi - English - Svenska


The Award Panel has selected the candidates for Ars Fennica 2015. The candidates on this occasion are all Finnish artists. There are five candidates, including one artist duo.

The candidates are:
Laura Könönen, b. 1980 in Espoo, lives and works in Helsinki
Outi Pieski, b. 1973 in Helsinki, lives and works in Utsjoki and Helsinki
Hans Rosenström, b. 1978 in Lohja, lives and works in London
Mika Taanila, b. 1965 in Helsinki, lives and works in Helsinki
Pink Twins – Vesa Vehviläinen, b. 1974 in Helsinki and Juha Vehviläinen, b. 1978 in Helsinki, live and work in Helsinki.

The prizewinner will be chosen from among the candidates by the internationally renowned British curator Charles Esche. He will visit the candidates' studios in early 2015, and will select the winner on the basis of these meetings with the artists. The award winner will be announced in spring 2015.


Ars Fennica 2014 e-book comprises of articles by: Hanna Johansson – IC-98 Patrik Söderlund and Visa Suonpää; Leevi Haapala – Riitta Ikonen; Paula Toppila – Tellervo Kalleinen and Oliver Kochta-Kalleinen; Taru Elfving – Leena Nio; and Saara Hacklin – Pauliina Turakka Purhonen. The book has been edited by Kirsti Karvonen and the graphic design is by Dogdesign Oy. The book is in Finnish, English and Swedish.
The Ars Fennica 2014 e-book can be downloaded free of charge in PDF format here.


The Henna and Pertti Niemistö Ars Fennica Art Foundation was set up in 1990 to promote the visual arts, to open up new international contacts for the Finnish art world, and to encourage artists in their creative work.

The Ars Fennica art award is made annually to one artist in recognition of distinctive artistic output of high merit. The award includes a monetary prize of 40,000 euros, a catalogue of works by the winner and an exhibition tour of three Finnish art museums. The Ars Fennica is an internationally respected award and the biggest Finnish prize for visual art.

The Ars Fennica award committee puts up a list of candidates, from among whom an international art expert chooses the winner. As well as Finns, other Nordic, Baltic and St Petersburg artists have been short-listed. The prize committee consists of Leena Niemistö, MD, Doctor of Medicine, Chair; Markus Kåhre, sculptor; Elina Merenmies, painter; and Pirkko Siitari, museum director.