Candidates 2019

The candidates have been selected by the Award Panel, comprising chair Leena Niemistö, MD, and members, Jussi Kivi, visual artist; Kai Kartio, director of Amos Rex, and, Leevi Haapala, director of the Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma

The ARS FENNICA 2019 candidates:
Petri Ala-Maunus, Finland
Miriam Bäckström, Sweden
Ragnar Kjartansson, Island
Aurora Reinhard, Finland
Egill Sæbjörnsson, Island

The winner will be chosen by an international art expert appointed by the Panel.
The award is 40,000 euro. The winner will be announced in September 2019.
Visitors can vote for their favourite artist by ballot during the candidate exhibition.

An exhibition of works by the candidates will be held at Amos Rex,
19 June – 8 Sept 2019.